Marrakech or Marrakesh (Mərrakəš or Murakuc, Arabic: مراكش‎ Murrākuš, local pronunciation: Mərrakəš), known as the "Ochre city", is the most important former imperial city in Morocco's history. The city of Marrakesh is the capital of the mid-southwestern economic region of Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz, near the foothills of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains, being also the fourth largest city in Morocco according to the 2004 census.

Like many Moroccan cities, the city of Marrakech comprises both an old fortified city (the médina) and modern neighborhoods, the most prominent of which is Gueliz, for a total population of 794,620 and 1,063,415 in the metropolitan area (2004 census).[1] It is served by Ménara International Airport (IATE code: RAK) and a rail link to Casablanca and the north.

Marrakech has the largest traditional market (souk) in Morocco and also has one of the busiest squares in Africa and the world, Djemaa el Fna. The square bustles with acrobats, story-tellers, water sellers, dancers and musicians. By night food stalls open in the square turning it into a huge busy open-air restaurant.
photo11 Marrakech 00580 Marrakech 00581
Marrakech 00582 Marrakech 00583 Marrakech 00584
Marrakech 00585 Marrakech 00586 Marrakech 00587
Marrakech 00588 Marrakech 00589 Marrakech 00590
Marrakech 00591 Marrakech 00592 Marrakech 00593
Marrakech 00594 Marrakech 00595 Marrakech 00596
Marrakech 00598 Marrakech 00599 Marrakech 00600
Marrakech 00601 Marrakech 00602